The Conference is over.

49th International School & Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors

"Jaszowiec 2021"

1-10 September 2021, Online only

Leonard Sosnowski Prize

Traditionally, during the "Jaszowiec" Conference, the Leonard Sosnowski Prize ceremony is taking place. This year, for the first time the award will be granted in two categories: for The Best Student and for The Best PhD student.

Details about applications for the Prize in 2021 are available at website (in polish) or (in english).

The deadlines in 2021 are
July 26 - for Best student category
August 22 - for Best PhD student category

A few words of information on the prize.

Professor Leonard Sosnowski was the founder of semiconductor physics at the University of Warsaw, and generally in Poland. About 20 years ago the group of his former students working mainly in USA founded the association "Polish physicists abroad". This group has established the Leonard Sosnowski Prize. The award, by the decision of its founders, was addressed to the students of the 1-st year of MSc studies at the Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw, who specialize in solid state physics, either experimental or theoretical. The aim of the prize was to support the winner, also financially, during her/his last year of MSc studies, which is a year of preparation of the MSc thesis, so she/he would have a more comfortable time preparing the thesis. For several years the main founder of the prize was Prof. Jacek Łagowski from USA (for long time affiliated at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology), former student of Prof. Leonard Sosnowski. Since 2010 the prize is co-founded by professors from the semiconductor physics community in Warsaw, as well as those solid state physicists from other physics centers in Poland or from abroad who either have been educated at the University of Warsaw or feel scientifically and emotionally related with the University.

The actual members of the board of governors (capitulum) which every year grants the prize to The Best Student are:

  • Professor Dariusz Wasik, the Dean of Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw
  • Professor Witold Bardyszewski (Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Warsaw)
  • Professor Andrzej Golnik (Institute of Experimental Physics, University of Warsaw)
  • Professor Maria Kamińska (Institute of Experimental Physics, University of Warsaw)
  • Professor Tomasz Story (Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences)

According to capitulum’s decision, starting from 2021 the Leonard Sosnowski Prize will be granted in two categories: for the best student (following the tradition, under the same conditions mentioned above), and for the best PhD student. The award in the latter category refers to PhD students of the third year of PhD studies or older, from Polish universities and scientific institutes. This award will be granted by a committee composed of the Dean of the Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw and members representing all the institutions being organizers of "Jaszowiec".

The amount granted to a prize winner in student category is at the level of 6 thousand Polish zloty, and in PhD student category at the level of 10 thousand Polish zloty, depending on the actual financial conditions. The funds collected can be used solely for the prize and related taxes. The funds are deposited in the separated account by the Foundation of the University of Warsaw.

The prize is granted annually during "Jaszowiec" School and Conference.