Conference is over.

48th International School & Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors

"Jaszowiec 2019"

Szczyrk, Poland, 8-14 June 2019

Leonard Sosnowski Prize

Traditionally, during the "Jaszowiec" Conference, the Leonard Sosnowski Prize ceremony is taking place. This award, although being granted only to the students of the Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw, is closely related to "Jaszowiec" School and Conference.

Laureate of the Leonard Sosnowski Prize in 2019 is Katarzyna Ludwiczak.

A few words of information on the prize.

Professor Leonard Sosnowski was the founder of semiconductor physics at the University of Warsaw, and generally in Poland. About 20 years ago the group of his former students working mainly in USA founded the association "Polish physicists abroad". This group has established the Leonard Sosnowski Prize. The award, by the decision of its founders, was addressed to the students of the 1-st year of MSc studies at Physics Department, University of Warsaw, who specializes in solid state physics, either experimental or theoretical. The aim of the prize was to support the winner, also financially, during her/his last year of MSc studies, which is a year of preparation of the MSc thesis, so she/he would have a more comfortable time preparing the thesis. For several years the sole founder of the prize was prof. Jacek Łagowski from USA (for long time affiliated at Massachusetts Institute of Technology), former student of prof. Leonard Sosnowski. Since 2010 the prize is co-founded by professors from the semiconductor physics community in Warsaw, as well as those solid state physicists from other physics centers in Poland or from abroad who either have been educated at the University of Warsaw or feel scientifically and emotionally related with the University. The actual members of the board of governors (capitulum) which every year grants the prize to the best student are:

  • Professor Dariusz Wasik, the Dean of Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw
  • Professor Witold Bardyszewski (Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Warsaw)
  • Professor Andrzej Golnik (Institute of Experimental Physics, University of Warsaw)
  • Professor Maria Kamińska (Institute of Experimental Physics, University of Warsaw)
  • Professor Tomasz Story (Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences)

The amount granted to a prize winner is at the level of 6 thousands of polish zloty, depending on the actual financial conditions. The funds collected can be used solely for the prize and related taxes. The funds are deposited in the separated account by the Foundation of the University of Warsaw.

The prize is granted annually during "Jaszowiec" School and Conference.